Author Topic: Tk15,166.18cr supplementary budget  (Read 1294 times)


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Tk15,166.18cr supplementary budget
« on: June 19, 2019, 10:24:30 AM »
Tk15,166.18cr supplementary budget

The parliament has passed the supplementary budget of Tk15,166.18 crore for the 2018-19 fiscal year to meet the increased expenditures under different ministries and divisions.

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal placed the supplementary budget before the parliament on June 13, along with the national budget for the FY2019-20.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina moved it on Monday as the finance minister was absent due to ill health, reports UNB.

Different ministries, divisions, and institutions sought the additional amount under 34 demands for grant. As many as 217 cut-motions were moved by eight members.

Discussions were held on four cut-motions, including that of Home Ministry, Housing and Public Works Ministry, LGRD and Cooperatives Ministry, and Expatriate Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry.

The cut motions were brought by Jatiya Party MPs Md Rustum Ali Faraji, Rowshan Ara Mannan, Fakhrul Imam, Kazi Firoz Rashid, Leakoat Hossain Khoka and Pir Fazlur Rahman, BNP MP Md Harunur Rashid and Gono Forum MP Mukabbir Khan.

However, the cut-motions were rejected by voice votes.

According to the budget document, an amount of Tk464, 573 crore was allocated in favour of 62 ministries and divisions for the 2018-19 fiscal year.

But in the supplementary budget, allocations for 37 ministries and divisions have been increased to Tk15,166.19 crore, while Tk37,348.05 crore reduced for 25 ministries and divisions.

As a result, the budget allocations for these ministries and divisions got reduced by Tk22,032 crore and the total allocation now stands at Tk442,541 crore.

The Election Commission Secretariat received the highest allocation of Tk2,447.88 crore while the lowest Tk83.54 lakh to Expatriate Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry.

The Prime Minister's Office received Tk17.02 crore while Cabinet Division received Tk8.07 crore, Supreme Court Tk33.72 crore, Public Administration Ministry Tk229.68 crore, Public Service Commission Tk46.93 crore, Bangladesh Comptroller and Auditor General Office Tk2.06 crore, Economic Relations Division Tk428.04 crore, IMED Tk9.60 crore, Statistics and information Management Division Tk141.86 crore, Foreign Ministry Tk151.67 crore, Defence Ministry Tk1,604.64 crore, Law and Judiciary Division Tk54.12 crore, Public Security Division Tk674.33 crore, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division Tk2.88 crore, Secondary and Higher Secondary Division Tk972.05 crore, Science and Technology Ministry Tk190.50 crore, Labour and Employment Ministry Tk44.06 crore, Housing and Public Works Ministry Tk1,182.93 crore, Cultural Affairs Ministry Tk115.93 crore, Religious Affairs Ministry Tk326.58 crore, Youth and Sports Ministry Tk21.08 crore, Local Government Division Tk1,542.84 crore, Rural Development and Cooperatives Division Tk57.56 crore, Industries Ministry Tk220.97 crore, Textile and Jute Ministry Tk876.16 crore, Energy and Mineral Resources Division Tk305.43 crore, Environment, Forest and Climate Change Ministry Tk69.37 crore, Water Resources Ministry Tk586.64 crore, Disaster Management and Relief Ministry Tk59.13 crore, Shipping Ministry Tk677.73 crore, CHT Affairs Ministry Tk51.59 crore, Power Division Tk1276.79 crore, Technical and Madrassa Education Board Division Tk55.29 crore and Department of Security Services Tk674.71 crore.