Author Topic: How do you operationalize a vision  (Read 2130 times)

Reyed Mia, Daffodil

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • https://www.facebook.com/reyed988
How do you operationalize a vision
« on: February 22, 2018, 10:57:50 PM »
How do you operationalize a vision?

- I mentioned earlier that we're doing some stuff at LinkedIn that I've never done before, which is trying to operationalize our vision, the dream, and historically for me, the vision is just that. It's true north, it's a dream, it's not something you actually do. And a few years ago, we recognized that we were growing our membership faster than we had anticipated, so we originally codified the mission to connect the world's professionals, we had 32 million members when I first joined, December 2008. We recently surpassed 400 million people signed up for LinkedIn, and a couple of years ago, it became clear, we were going to be on a trajectory to exceed the midway mark to that 780 million.

And at the time, granted once we've connected the world's professionals, making them more productive and successful, there's plenty of work to be done on that front. It's not just about connecting and signing people up. But we did start asking ourselves what would come next, and where we ended up was bringing our vision to life, this idea of creating economic opportunity for every member of the global workforce, all three billion people, not just knowledge workers and professionals or students, everyone. Everyone in the global workforce. And so the way in which we decided to go about that was by essentially digitally mapping the global economy across six dimensions.