Author Topic: 6 Fears That Keep You From Starting Your Own Business  (Read 1378 times)

Priya

• View Profile
6 Fears That Keep You From Starting Your Own Business
« on: May 27, 2019, 02:10:06 PM »
6 Fears That Keep You From Starting Your Own Business

“Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.” -- Henry David Thoreau.

Some of my friends love telling me how great their jobs are. They brag about everything they do. Then, in the same week, they complain about everything they have to deal with.

This isn’t surprising. Most people are dissatisfied with their jobs. In fact, 70 percent of Americans aren’t engaged by what they do for a living. Let’s put that into perspective. There are around 120 million full-time workers in the U.S. right now and 84 million of them don’t really like their jobs.
Are you one of them?

Starting my own business was the last thing on my mind when I graduated from college. I just wanted a stable job and a dependable income. I wanted benefits and vacation time. Free coffee and a food bar would have been nice, too.

But as the years went on, I realized the nine-to-five life just wasn’t for me. I began entertaining the idea of starting my own business but kept coming up with excuses not to. Eventually, I realized I needed to face my fears head-on.

Here are the six biggest fears I had to overcome.

1. Failure

Imagine putting everything you have -- your hopes, dreams and finances -- into starting your own business, only to watch it crash and burn. According to psychologists, the fear of failure is at the very top of the totem pole above the fear of separation and loss of autonomy.

How I overcame this fear: I had to redefine success. I realized it wasn’t enough for me to be at a decent job with decent pay -- security wasn’t my definition of success. For me, success meant chasing my dreams and achieving my goals. That’s when I realized I’d be failing by staying at my current job.

2. Inadequacy